Honda HR-V Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
After a recent trip out to the desert, climbing some trails that put the AWD to a serious test and coming home with numerous holes and slices in the tread, I wanted to see what the biggest size all terrain tire I could fit on the stock rim with the stock ride height of my HR-V, so that I could gain both modest ride height for obstacles as well as some room to air down a bit for washboard and other rough terrain.

I spent a great deal of time looking at tires from every manufacturer from Michelin, Toyo, Falken etc before I found out Continental had stepped into the AT market earlier this year with the Terrain Contact series https://amzn.to/2IGVQdG , which has some really good reviews. I have been using Continental Tires on every vehicle since 2010 I think, when I bought my first set of Extreme Contacts and unlike most tires, they have a very high consistency to zero tread. I've never had one fail and the number of patches I've had from screws etc in my TSX, which has seen some incredibly hard use performance driving over the last 40K is insane.

Originally I had looked into light truck tires as well but realized I will never carry that kind of weight off road, they are about 2x as heavy and much louder on the road typically.

Part of the concern was not just size but highway noise and comfort, as well as weight - The stock tire weighs a mere 23 pounds, the stock rim btw is about 28, or 51 total. So putting a 50 pound tire on was not my first choice. Even though this would soften the ride, it would dramatically increase strut and shock wear. Below is the stock tire and specs for comparison.