Honda HR-V Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to AWD so I have to ask opinions about how Honda system will do in the snow . How does it transfer power if any of the wheels are slipping? Also, if anyone knows how often maintenance is required such as diff fluid changes.This was a rough CT winter and one of the reasons for buying the HRV is getting up my hill to get home. Past couple of years snowfall was too much for the civic. HRV is a good option as 4 x4 pickup at 20mpg does not work for me . Been there with Doge Dakota at 22 gal every 4 days with my commute. Jim

·
Registered
20 Posts
AWD Expained

This is how it used to work with the old CRV and original HRV (which was available almost everywhere but North America!).
http://www.awdwiki.com/en/honda/

I owned a 1998 HRV (I'm from the UK) and found it worked well. I recently sold my 3 year old Civic and bought a 2002 HRV ready to trade when the new one is launched. Thats promised for the summer here in the UK.

·
Registered
2,732 Posts
Depending on where you live, the HRV may or may not be your best option. Honda HRV is not true AWD, if that's what your looking for then you might be better with the Crosstrek.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Thanks for the link.

This is how it used to work with the old CRV and original HRV (which was available almost everywhere but North America!).
http://www.awdwiki.com/en/honda/

I owned a 1998 HRV (I'm from the UK) and found it worked well. I recently sold my 3 year old Civic and bought a 2002 HRV ready to trade when the new one is launched. Thats promised for the summer here in the UK.
Great info.

·
Registered
738 Posts
Depending on where you live, the HRV may or may not be your best option. Honda HRV is not true AWD, if that's what your looking for then you might be better with the Crosstrek.
Yes this is true, even more of a reason to consider what else is in the segment and weigh out your options.

·
Registered
524 Posts