Honda HR-V Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2018 HR-V is making a faint scraping sound from the passenger-side rear wheel. It gets faster or slower according to the car's speed and stops as soon as very light pressure is applied to the brake pedal even though the car is still moving. What would be causing that? Is the brake caliper not seated properly?

·
Registered
2019 Honda HR-V Touring CBP
581 Posts
Firstly, I’m not a mechanic.

Piggybacking off what @Jmay317 said, you should inspect the brake rotor too. Because before the wheel bearing, the caliper’s actual point of contact is the rotor.

You’ll need to make sure it’s still flat/straight and not “warped.” While it is possible to actually warp a rotor, most folks online say a similar symptom is caused by buildup on the rotor from the brake pad material. Either way, you’ll need to have it machined or replaced.

Another benefit of checking the rotor first, is that its easier to deal with.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Firstly, I’m not a mechanic.

Piggybacking off what @Jmay317 said, you should inspect the brake rotor too. Because before the wheel bearing, the caliper’s actual point of contact is the rotor.

You’ll need to make sure it’s still flat/straight and not “warped.” While it is possible to actually warp a rotor, most folks online say a similar symptom is caused by buildup on the rotor from the brake pad material. Either way, you’ll need to have it machined or replaced.

Another benefit of checking the rotor first, is that its easier to deal with.
Goobers - where you on the Fit Freak Forum?

·
Registered
2016 Honda HR-V EX FWD
84 Posts